Skip to main content

President's Council Announces 2023 Service and Leadership Awards

Brigham Young University–Hawaii is pleased to announce this year's recipients of the Sione Feinga Award, the V. Napua Baker Award, the President's Appreciation Awards, and the Exemplary Employee Awards. These awards recognize commendable employees who have displayed a strong commitment and dedication to their jobs at the university.

Image of Alika Lopes
Photo by Monique Saenz

Sione Feinga Award

The Sione Feinga Award was presented to Alika Lopes, of Facilities Management.

Being described as "a very motivated employee" for many years. He's taken on the challenge of supervising the paint and carpentry shops and overseeing the many responsibilities of ensuring turnover work for the Temple View Apartments (TVA) and single-student housing is completed and done ahead of schedule. His nominator said, "his example is the best inspiration a team could ask for," and the campus ohana loves working with him.

Diedra Uli'i
Photo by Monique Saenz

V. Napua Baker Award

Diédra Uli'i, Event Services & Outreach manager, received the V. Napua Baker Award.

Uli'i's nominator said, "Diedra is a person with many gifts. She is a great problem solver with excellent attention to detail. She has the difficult task of balancing the many competing requests that come to her department. Her problems solving skills are even more critical as different areas on campus will be going through renovations and construction. Somehow, she makes it all work!"

President's Appreciation Awards

The first recipient of the award was Shirley Tekura Tovey of Seasider Sports & Activities.

Her nominator expanded on Tovey's natural ability to connect with and mentor students saying, "Kura guides and leads the students to accomplish their individual goals. She goes out of her way to mentor and lead students to success. Everyone loves to work with her, as she has a positive spirit and always looking for ways to help others."

The second award recipient was Mamoe Sanerivi, of Financial Aid & Scholarships.

The nominator of Sanerivi said, "He is mindful of his stewardship over sacred funds. He regularly encourages his team to be not just workers, but to transform themselves and others to be more Christlike. He leads by example."

Portrait of Mamoe Sanerivi and Kura Tovey
Kura Tovey and Mamoe Sanerivi received President's Appreciation Awards at the 2023 Ho'omaika'i Employee Appreciation Night
Photo by Monique Saenz

Exemplary Employee Award

The following award recipients have demonstrated outstanding care for students, leadership, mentoring, self-improvement, and teamwork skills.

Teaching: Victor Kaufusi, Faculty of Sciences

Scholarship: Tēvita Ka'ili, Faculty of Culture, Language & Performing Arts

Citizenship: Boyd Timothy, Faculty of Education & Social Work

Adjunct: Elaine McArthur, Faculty of Culture, Language & Performing Arts